Ch-ch-ch-ch-chaaaaaaaanges….

As I’m sure you’ve noticed, I haven’t been blogging much lately.  The fact is, I’ve been struggling to figure out exactly what I want to do with this space.  On the one hand, I definitely want to blog regularly, but on the other hand, I don’t want it to devolve into a “let me tell you about my day everyday” sort of place – I’d like to keep the focus on broader themes and ideas.  At the same time, I was struggling to keep up with my workout plan, so I was also feeling pretty torn and down about that.  But over the last two weeks, I’ve sorted out my workout situation and I’m back on track to run my first marathon in the spring (plus a bunch of halves and 5Ks and 10Ks and 15Ks along the way), so with that side of things under control, I’ve been turning my attention to what to do here.  And here’s what I’ve got:

I really want to get into the best shape of my life.  As I find myself building strength and endurance, I’ve also started to notice where my weight (I carry about 30 extra pounds) is getting in my way – I’m slower than I’d like to be when I run, I can’t do certain bodyweight exercises, there are positions I can’t get into in yoga because my own body is in the way, you get the idea.  But every time I think about improving my diet (although I’ve gotten quality of food under control – yay vegan foods! – quantity is still an issue), and improving my fitness, I get kind of overwhelmed at the thought of changing something “forever,” and then I get mentally tired and don’t do the things I need to do.  So instead of changing “forever,” I’ve issued myself a 100 day challenge.  Starting today, for the next 100 days, I’m going to:

  1. Track everything I eat, and eat within my calorie allowance (as calculated by Fitbit, which I use for activity and food tracking);
  2. Do all of my scheduled workouts every week;
  3. Blog here at least 2x/week;
  4. Meditate daily, starting at 10 minutes and increasing the meditation time by five minutes every two weeks;
  5. Practice yoga at least 3x/week (and at least once per week in a class setting instead of at home with a DVD).

Basically, my goal for the next 100 days is to do everything I need to do to take better care of myself physically AND mentally.  I like time-limited challenges like this because it encourages me to keep going (after all, don’t want to “fail” the challenge!), and helps me avoid the trap of feeling overwhelmed at the notion of having to do something “forever.”  Also, I find that when I succeed at these long-term challenges, I end up building better habits, so that even when I don’t “have to” do something anymore, I still want to do it because it’s become part of my routine.

So, here goes nothin’.  100 days to a better me!

Leave a Reply

